Bahrain VAT on Foreign Digital Services

On 1 January 2019, the Arab Gulf state of the Kingdom of Bahrain implemented Value Added Tax on non-resident digital or electronic services providers or marketplaces selling to consumers.

This was the date when it implemented its 5% VAT regime as part of the Gulf Cooperation Council six-state agreement to form a VAT union. So far, only UAESaudi Arabia, Bahrain and Oman have introduced VAT and taxed non-resident digital services. Check VAT Calc’s global VAT and GST on digital services tracker to see which other countries have introduced indirect taxes on electronic services to consumers.



VAT news
VAT news


  • VAT news